Montrose District

Proudly Serving Montrose, Ouray and San Miguel Counties

Montrose District

How Can We Help You?

921,000 acres (373,000 hectares) of private, state and locally-controlled land are targeted by district forestry programs, including:

The Montrose District of the Colorado State Forest Service (CSFS) is one of 16 districts and three field offices located throughout Colorado. We are a service and outreach agency of the Warner College of Natural Resources at Colorado State University (CSU). The CSFS headquarters is located on the CSU Foothills Campus in Fort Collins.

Our mission is to achieve stewardship of Colorado's diverse forest environments for the benefit of present and future generations.

The Montrose District covers 4,064 sq. mi (10,525 sq. km) in southwestern Colorado. Elevations range from 4,750 ft. (1450 m) to 14,150 ft. (4315 m) above sea level. The climate is variable; annual average precipitation varies from 8 in. (20 cm) in the lower river valleys to over 40 in. (101 cm) on top of the highest peaks.

Significant topographic features of the region include Black Canyon, Dolores-San Miguel River Basin, Gunnison River Basin, San Miguel Mountains, Uncompahgre Plateau and Uncompahgre River Valley. These regions can be identified within the large basins where they occur and form the basis for landscape-wide management efforts.

Native forests and riparian zones of the area include aspen, cottonwood, Gambel oak, willow, fir, spruce, Douglas-fir, piñon pine and juniper. Lower elevation valleys are mostly desert-shrub communities.

Find additional information about different eco-types using Baileys Eco-Regions.

However, some landowners plant these areas with Christmas trees, windbreaks, wildlife habitat and erosion-controlling shelter belts.

We believe that environmental stewardship in Colorado is best served by an effective network of partners.

Contact Information

Jodi Rist - District Forester
102 Par Place, Suite 1
Montrose, CO 81401-4196
(970) 249-9051
FAX (970) 249-5718