Wildfire Community Preparedness Day banner - May 7, 2016 Fort Collins, Colo. – The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) recently announced that 16 Colorado communities will receive $500 State Farm project funding awards.

These communities, representing a sizeable share of 125 being recognized nationally, will be implementing fuels reduction projects and wildfire mitigation education activities on May 7, National Wildfire Community Preparedness Day.

National Wildfire Community Preparedness Day

The Community Preparedness Day is a day for communities and stakeholders across the U.S. to take actions to reduce their wildfire risk and raise awareness about local concerns. Last year, more than 140 projects took place across the nation to make residents and firefighters safer when wildfires occur.

President Obama even shared a Presidential Message of encouragement with communities to take action and be prepared. Last year and this year, NFPA has teamed up with America’s PrepareAthon, a grassroots campaign for action to increase community preparedness and resilience, to encourage communities across the nation to practice emergency preparedness.

Recipients in 36 States Funded for Projects

A total of 271 communities applied for funding awards this year, from 40 different states.

The 125 recipients of funded projects cover a broad range of activities that will be completed in 36 states and includes the following numbers and locations: AL (2); AK (1); AZ (9); AR (1); CA (19); CO (16); CT (1); FL (1); GA (1); HI (1); ID (5); IL (1); KS (1); MA (1); ME (1); MI (1); MN (1); MT (2); NV (4); NH (1); NJ (1); NM (7); NC (2); OH (1); OK (2); OR (8); PA (1); RI (1); SC (3); SD (1); TN (1); TX (10); UT (1); VA (1); WA (14) and WY (1).

Colorado Award Recipients

  • Rist Canyon Volunteer Fire Department – Bellvue
  • PineRidge HOA – Castle Pines
  • Bell Mountain Ranch – Castle Rock
  • Big Valley Community – Colorado Springs
  • Colorado Springs Fire Department and Cheyenne Mountain Zoo – Colorado Springs
  • Big Thompson River Restoration Coalition – Drake
  • Falls Creek Ranch – Durango
  • Vista de Oro Subdivision – Hesperus
  • Tres Valles West Owners Association – La Veta
  • Sampson Road Association – Littleton
  • Montezuma County Chapter of FireWise of SW Colorado, Southwest Colorado Community College, Southwest Open High School, and Montezuma School to Farm Project – Mancos
  • Zapata Homeowners Association – Mosca
  • San Juan Headwaters Forest Health Partnership, Town of Pagosa Springs, and Archuleta County Chapter of FireWise of SW Colorado – Pagosa Springs
  • Tri Lakes Area and Coalition for the Upper South Platte – Palmer Lake
  • Property Owners – Rollinsville
  • Winter Park Highlands – Tabernash

Many of these award recipients’ communities are recognized Firewise Communities/USA®, as part of a national recognition program administered by the NFPA that provides a five-step template for wildfire safety at the neighborhood level. The Colorado State Forest Service (CSFS) serves as the liaison between Colorado communities and the NFPA to help landowners with wildfire mitigation and education efforts.

Many CSFS employees will be working alongside Colorado Firewise Communities/USA and neighbors on Wildfire Community Preparedness Day to implement fuels treatments and provide wildfire mitigation education.

Congratulations to the award recipients, and thank you all for the work you have done to prepare for future wildfires and reduce your wildfire risk!

Learn More About Wildfire Community Preparedness Day

Visit: http://www.nfpa.org/wildfirepreparednessday