Skip to main content

The Montrose Field Office of the Colorado State Forest Service (CSFS) is one of 17 field offices in Colorado, serving Montrose, Ouray and San Miguel counties.

We are a service and outreach agency of the Warner College of Natural Resources at Colorado State University (CSU). The CSFS state office is on the CSU Foothills Campus in Fort Collins.

Our mission is to achieve stewardship of Colorado’s diverse forest environments for the benefit of present and future generations.

The Montrose Field Office area covers 2,600,960 acres in southwestern Colorado. Of these acres, 921,000 are comprised of private, state and locally controlled land. Elevations range from 4,750 to 14,150 feet above sea level. The climate is variable, and the annual average precipitation varies from 8 inches in the lower river valleys to more than 40 inches on top of the highest peaks.

Significant topographic features of the region include Black Canyon, Dolores-San Miguel River Basin, Gunnison River Basin, San Miguel Mountains, Uncompahgre Plateau and Uncompahgre River Valley.

Ouray’s Changing Forest

Forest Health Report Story Map

CSFS Forest Entomologist Dr. Dan West produced an Esri Story Map for the annual Forest Health Report, which offers users an interactive way to learn about local forest conditions.

Montrose-area insects & diseases map

Wildfire Risk Viewer

The Wildfire Risk Viewer is a web-mapping application that allows users to identify specific wildfire risk levels within a 1/2-mile radius of a home, or any other point of interest on the map.

Type your address or the city or town where you live into the search field on this map.

Map powered by the Colorado Forest Atlas from the Colorado State Forest Service