Steamboat Springs District

Proudly Serving Jackson, Moffat and Routt Counties

The Steamboat Springs District of the Colorado State Forest Service (CSFS) is one of 16 districts and three field offices located throughout Colorado. Our district hosts the Colorado State Forest field office in Walden.

We are a service and outreach agency of the Warner College of Natural Resources at Colorado State University (CSU). The CSFS headquarters is located on the CSU Foothills Campus in Fort Collins.

Our mission is to achieve stewardship of Colorado's diverse forest environments for the benefit of present and future generations.

The Steamboat Springs District office is currently staffed by five foresters, an inventory forester responsible for conducting the Forest Inventory and Analysis program in northwestern Colorado and an administrative assistant. Two of our foresters are responsible for forest management activities at the State Forest.

Our office is next to Ace at the curve in Steamboat Springs.

Contact Information

John Twitchell - District Forester
Steamboart Springs District Office

Mailing Address:
PO Box 773657
Steamboat Springs, CO 80477

Physical Address:
2201 Curve Plaza, Suite 105A
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
(970) 879-0475
FAX (888) 870-3843